PDA

View Full Version : Basic Stock Research Advice

Lephaveveft
04-03-2016,
I'm not an expert, but I usually look for growth rate, earnings, quarterly surprises to the upside and management. I also look at which sectors are doing well and how well a particular company does within its sector. As Cramer says, it doesn't matter where a stock has been, it matters where it's going.

LillieEa
04-04-2016,
I THINK Cramer may answer this way:

1. Cramer always says 50% of the potential is sector related. Find a hot sector!! Maybe easier said then done

2. GROWTH!!! Will the company have sales growth??

3. A stock that's maybe beaten up for no real reason. Buy low, sell high!

Chartguru will answer this quite differently I'm sure :D

leynuoxz70
04-05-2016,
I maybe tend to look at the past too much, but someone tell me how you know if a stock is beaten up or doing well without looking at the past for something to judge it by. I'm not comfortable following guidance forcasts and the growth and earnings and sectors only, I gotta look back and check where this baby's been. This morning when I picked up a few RUTH, I had to look back and see that it was off it's lowest point since Katrina, and even it's ipo. I definately don't understand techinicals, it just reinforces my decision, even though it possibly serves no purpose whatsoever.

LiskKice
04-07-2016,
Newbie here.

I would like to learn how to do proper due diligence on stocks.

Would it be possible for some of the experts here to please list the first (lets say) five things one should look at for analyzing a stock.

Ideally, the list would include:

1.The item to look at - (P/E ratio for example)

2. What the item means in laymens terms.

3. What the formula is (if applicable)

4. How the item relates to the stock and compared to similar stocks for comparison.

5. Supply a possible example

6. Provide any links to other sites that may be helpful.