PDA

View Full Version : T0rM3nTeD's paper trading journal

Sanfordgom
03-24-2016,
Hello everyone! I'll start with a summary about my current situation, and then what my plans are in the near and longer term future.

To start, my name is Chris, I'm 27 years old and married with student loans. I have a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science and am currently working as an engineer (???). My wife is also 27 years old and has a Bachelor's degree in nursing and is working in an ER (part time) and in a doctor's office (full time). I graduated College with about $25K in loans and my wife had about $40K. We have paid them off "fairly aggressively" and should be done at the end of this year. We also bought a house 6 months ago, and had to buy some furniture for that house as well. Between the marriage, loans, house, furniture, we've never really had "enough" money to invest.

Obviously we have both contributed to a 401K since starting working full-time when graduating college. I'm sitting with about $7500 in my 401K and my wife has about the same. My 401K is invested in an index fund that correlates with the S&P. We have $10K saved up in a "Savings account" which is purely cash right now just sitting in the bank in case of emergency.

By the end of the year when we have paid off our loans, we will be adding roughly $2K to that savings account every month (hopefully) which is when I'll be able to get out of paper trading and into the market. Those are my plans anyways - to be "practicing" with paper trading for the next year or so as I'm fairly new, and then transition to the market.

Because I don't have a large amount of money, my positions and amount of money that I am "willing to lose" on a trade will not be huge. The type of trading I am interested in is swing trading where I spend a few days to a few weeks in an investment.