PDA

View Full Version : Have 30 days to grow portfolio!!!

LucindaDark
03-04-2016,
Hello OTF,

We started a stock trading group in college and have till end of April to grow our portfolio to the maximum return. Besides day trading is there a strategy that I could use to pick stocks that could a) be bought/sold in a few days, (b) bought/sold in a few hours, or (c) bought/sold in 1 or 2 weeks.

As I'm a student, it would of course help to learn about strategies that do not involve looking and translating complex charts/graphics. I'm of course familiar with firm characteristics such as Betas, PEGS, EPS, e.t.c. but those seem to be for long-term stock investments. Thanks in advance.

egrizzly.

lwjxxcczaim
03-06-2016,
One strategy....Just fade big moves. Look for stocks or etfs at all time highs and short them...or if something has made a big move that day wait for a turn around and fade it.

Start the contest off with a long/short portfolio. Long SPY while short AAPL...short TLT while long FXE...Long TWTR while short FB....safe stuff like that. Look for when the SPY is offset percentage wise compared to QQQ and short the one that's up and go long the one that is down and wait for them to revert to normalcy.
Let everyone else beat themselves up. Once someone has taken a big lead start taking riskier trades and if you start to put heat to them they will start to take riskier trades.

When your playing for a limited amount of time you need the biggest movers.
There are ETF's that give you 2 or 3x volatility vs something.
For oil there is DIG and DUG
FAS,TNA,SPXL,FAZ,TZA,SPXA
are some others.
TVIX.
Lower priced equities tend to move more especially if the their volatility is high.
A couple of people in the contest will have huge gains and a couple will have huge losses. You have to beat the ones with huge gains. Shooting for being safe will land you in the middle. So you have to take bigger risks than you would in a real account.