PDA

View Full Version : Tricks to identify the right stock?

agvamihuuzo
02-23-2016,
Hello,

I am new to active trading. In the past I have been a buy and hold investor, but now I have changed looking for more of a growth strategy. My goal is to replace my income from my job in the next few years. However, just a few weeks in I am getting frustrated. I am sure this is common, but I am hoping I can draw upon the experience of others to help me focus on some factors that will help me be more sucessful.

My primary frustration isn't losses since I haven't had any more than $50 or so thus far. It's the fact that out of the several dozen stocks that I have selected as good investments I seem to filter out the good ones and buy the ones that just never seem to go anywhere.

I mean heck at this point I wish they would do something, even hit my stops so I could move on, but they just move up & down 5-10 cents each day. One day up then give it all back the next day.

On the other hand the stocks I for one reason or another passed on just keep going up. These were on my short list so it's all the more frustrating.

aixuzayimau
02-24-2016,
haha ye there's the rub isn't it. Lot's of strategies out there. Momentum trading, buy weakness, sell strength, on and on. Everyone tryna get your money. Tastytrade.com has a good video on equity selection.
here are some of their youtube vids. But the website is archived and more organized.

ahonepewafafo
02-24-2016,