PDA

View Full Version : I'm a Young Beginner With a Goal: Where Do I Start?

bnelkdni49
07-12-2015,
Hello all,

I'm 24 and I think it's about time I really wrap my head around investing. I'm currently doing a lot of research, and I understand that this does not happen overnight - and that's the reason I'm on here is to learn from you all.

I have up to $1000.00 that I can invest right about now and I'm currently trying to explore my options of what would be best. Banking interest is so low that it just makes more sense to take a calculated risk on investing than earning pennies every year from the bank.

My goal is ideally to make some money in as shorter period as possible (I know, me and everyone else, right?). I understand that some of the best investments are for years to come, but I'm just looking to make small, smart investments. I'm a professional musician by trade, believe it or not, and one of the downers of this is a fluctuation in income - when it's great it's great, but then you can be struggling the next month. So my main goal is to basically invest well enough to have it balance out against my fluctuating income.

From what I understand (and please do correct me if I'm totally wrong on this) these are some of my best options for the small money that I have to invest:
1. Straight up buying and selling stock: simply buying stocks through a DSP and waiting/hoping it goes up, then selling for gain. I have looked into a few companies, and I feel that I could make at least a little bit of money just being smart about doing this. But doing the maths, if the stock was to peak at the highest rate in the past years I would maybe make $200.00 off of my $1000.00... I don't think I would loose value, but it's not going to sky rocket anytime soon.