PDA

View Full Version : 'Experts' vs. My 8-year-old son

HarryAloof
08-05-2014,
I am relatively new to active investing -- I only started paying close attention to my 401k and mutual funds in April of last year, when I set up a simulation account at Investopedia to practice before (possibly) doing it for real myself.

I studied several different strategies, read up on the pros and cons of investing in different types of companies, from blue chips to emerging markets, and different industries, and learned what I could about how different financial advisers make their picks to sell or buy or hold.

I then "purchased" $100,000 worth of stock from 10 companies from a well-diversified list of "expert" picks. I'd say my portfolio was just this side of conservative, with four or five solid blue chips, and the rest a mix of emerging market, small-cap and mid-size stocks.

After one month (April 2013), I was down $27,000. OK, I thought. It's just one month. That's nothing when you're in it for the long haul, right?

Still, it got me thinking. So I opened another simulated account worth $100,000 and asked my 8-year-old son write down 10 sets of three letter "words," explaining that I didn't want him to write actual words, but just the first three letters that came to his mind. I then had him repeat the process for the two or three that did not match actual ticker symbols until we eventually got 10 stocks.

The results? Between April 17, 2013 and April 16, 2014, my "expert" picks (which I reset to $100,000 on the first day) was down $8,000. My 8-year-old son's picks were up $17,000.