Thread: Beginner Looking for Guidance

Default Beginner Looking for Guidance

Hello, Everyone!

Hope you all are having a great night. I am writing this message because I am looking to get involved with investing and the stock market but have no idea where to begin. I work in the broadcasting industry and did not grow up with much of a business or wealthy background.

A little about myself. I have faced a tremendous amount of adversity throughout my life however I used the tragedy in a positive way to succeed in my career and life. I am self-motivated and ambitious.

When I commit to something, I don't stop until I get results.

I would tremendously appreciate any proper guidance and more information on the basics of investing and the stock market.

My email is broadcastingbrian@gmail.com and you can find me on twitter @BroadcastingBri

I look forward to chatting more with everybody in the near future and wish nothing but the best to you and all your families.

I'm by no means an expert, in fact I'm young and quite inexperienced. This just means that I know where you're coming from.

I was totally lost when I began looking into trading, but just found out that diving into any information I could find and doing some very small scale trading was helpful.

Read 'The Intelligent Investor' by Benjamin Graham (I found it to be a good starting point), as well as any other book you can get your hands on.

What I've discovered is that, at least in the beginning with trading, the easiest concept to grab onto is 'what companies do you believe in?'. Find a company that you feel do a lot of really good business and then do as much research as you can into whether they're a good company to buy shares in.

Don't try and 'beat the market' and find that mysterious company that everyone is telling you to pin your money onto - stick to what you know and do your research.