Thread: Tricks to identify the right stock?

I am new to active trading. In the past I have been a buy and hold investor, but now I have changed looking for more of a growth strategy. My goal is to replace my income from my job in the next few years. However, just a few weeks in I am getting frustrated. I am sure this is common, but I am hoping I can draw upon the experience of others to help me focus on some factors that will help me be more sucessful.

My primary frustration isn't losses since I haven't had any more than $50 or so thus far. It's the fact that out of the several dozen stocks that I have selected as good investments I seem to filter out the good ones and buy the ones that just never seem to go anywhere.

I mean heck at this point I wish they would do something, even hit my stops so I could move on, but they just move up & down 5-10 cents each day. One day up then give it all back the next day.

On the other hand the stocks I for one reason or another passed on just keep going up. These were on my short list so it's all the more frustrating.

$YOD Identified at around $3, passed on it because my capital is limited and didn't think the return would be good enough... It rocketed to close to $6 within two days.

$CPST Identified at around $1.60, but passed because it was at what appeared to be solid resistance. It's at $1.95 today and still rising. Going to try to get in tomorrow, but I'd be willing to bet that will end up being close to the peak.

$HK Identified at around $3.50, passed on it because my capital is limited and didn't think the return would be good enough... It has been over $4 in the last few days.

$IO Identified at around $3, passed on it because my capital is limited and didn't think the return would be good enough... It is over $4 now.

$PLUG Identified at around $3 passed on it because my capital is limited and didn't think the return would be good enough... Is it about $4.40 now.