Thread: Can't quite get my head around stocks...

Anthonypioni

Default Can't quite get my head around stocks...

I'm an economics student with some interest in trading, and there is one concept pertaining to stock markets I can't quite figure out and I am unable to find an answer for it on the internet.

How are stock (and other derivatives) trading transactions able to occur instantaneously? In conventional, non-electronic trading, a buyer must be connected to a seller for a trade to occur, but in the world of electronic trading, as I have learned through trading simulators, this is not necessarily the case.
    AntoniaStr

Another implication of this, is that in the event of a stock bubble being burst and all the shareholders are selling their shares- who the hell are they selling them to? Is the bourse holding a reserve of shares in each company listed so that it can connect buyers to sellers whenever they come about?

How is it that I can buy X amount of shares whenever I want, without there being someone willing to sell the same amount at the same time?

I recognise this is probably a really dumb question, but I'm losing sleep over this- any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Anthonywen