PDA

View Full Version : Forex Profit Monster - 4H TF

JeromeFut
01-19-2016,
I bought this system 3rd May 2009 because I am a confirmed longer TF trader. Initially I wanted it because the author devised it specifically for taking advantage of LT trends. He runs a blog, and personally he prefers the 4H TF - and that's what he bases his published results on.

My idea was to trade the Daily candles, because I get home from my night shifts just before 2400 GMT (in Australia) and I have around one hour to review the charts before the candle closes, and the new one starts.

Ideal for me.

Problem: There were too few opportunities to enter the trends, once underway, and wanting to be a system purist, I faithfully stood by, watching lots of pips float past, while waiting for an entry. I took this up with the author, asking him if I was operating the method correctly, and he replied (within 2 hours) that yes, there was nothing wrong with my operation of his method.

I looked at what I was doing, and realised I could have entered at countless 4H intervals, and then stayed with these trends providing they were profitable, and in sync with the Daily charts. So today I am trading the 4H charts with good results.

I still have issues with trade management because of my night work - I can not adjust trades - enter/exit and so on because I am either at work or asleep at times signals occur that influence trade management. Fortunately, I am able to switch on my charts around the London market opening time and catch the activity until it is time for me to head out to work again. This satisfies my need to be involved during some activity, at least.

I submit that background to explain my situation. I also have a family I happen to wish to keep! http://static2.trade2win.com/boards/images/smilies/icon_biggrin.gif http://static2.trade2win.com/boards/images/smilies/icon_biggrin.gif