PDA

View Full Version : New to investing - ETF

Albertgax
10-21-2015,
Hi all,

I am new to investing and purchased 91 shares of (SSO) etf based on a online advice subscription which switches back an forth between SSO ETF, SDS ETF, and cash. Is this a good place to start off the records show that this system traditionally has had 25% return thus far this year.

Any guidance or advice would be much appreciated - see attached jpg for system I was talking about

Thanks
Dibya

AntonioVem
10-21-2015,
Not something I would ever trade for the following reasons. The options market is not liquid enough to be tradeable. Also there is much less margin relief in these 2x volatility products

You can play the SPY for the same amount of capital or less as you can get at least 50% margin there and have playable options when things go wrong.
For me...1 share of SSO would be about 75$ buying power where 1 share of SPY is 68$....and the SPY is waaaaaaayyyyy more liquid. And since the SSO derives it's value from S&P products (probably /ES futures I would guess) there is probably a cost to carry so I would check that out and make sure that it is not underperforming the SPY under the same strategy. But I'm just guessing there. The aforementioned reasons are enough for me to say no thanks.

And as far as their "positions results summary"....so they say..... And if they have had a buy SSO signal for the last 3 weeks I would guess some people had to sit from some pretty heavy losses and if they managed to not get shook out they might be even if /ES continues to rally for the rest of the week. Otherwise I'll bet they are not up 25% for the year at this point.

I'm guessing this "system" has a price tag? How much?

aqueiluk
10-22-2015,
Hhah you're asking the wrong guy but here goes.