PDA

View Full Version : Calculating Rate of Return (ROR)

aowiukalu
09-26-2015,
Hello all. Newbie here, posting for the first time. I'm still learning things and I wanted to ask you how to figure out the Rate of Return. This is what I have to work with:
Beginning balance (ending of previous term)
Payroll (My) contributions
Change in value (can't quite figure out where this comes from)
Ending balance (ending of current term)
How can I figure out my ROR from the information I have? Also, how do I figure out the ROR from my own investments? I buy shares of stock on a regular basis (monthly), dividends are reinvested, and sometimes I sell shares. Thanks. I'd appreciate anything that helps me learn more.

aqaqayi
09-27-2015,
This sector has had a heck of a run within the last 30 days. I keep raising my limit buy on EOG and am chasing the stock at this point. I've learned not to fight the trend and it appears Wall St. is willing to take nat gas higher as it has also had a great run recently. Could this be the story of 2008, much like oil was in 2005-2007? Should we expect a drastic drop off when Spring is nigh?

I've since raised my limit buy on EOG to $96. I'm interested to hear if you all think nat gas is overheated and due for a pullback and if my entry price is a safe bet based on TA and the price action in the commodity.

Thanks in advance.

PS: if there is a better play on nat gas other than EOG I am interested in hearing your opinion.

Anthonmr
09-27-2015,
adCow,