PDA

View Full Version : Variables For Stock Picking

Blaine Tarr
09-06-2015,
Good afternoon to everyone,

I am a student of Engineering from the Politecnico di Torino and I am authoring my final paper. It deals with data visualization applied to the stock market.

Which do you think are the most important variables to take into account while performing stock picking?

Thank you a lot in advance!

bqjklela26
09-07-2015,
This is like the third time you've started a thread asking this same question. This isn't really the most active forum and not only that you have little to go off of that the people here are even actually trading. It might be a good idea to send an e-mail out to some investment firms and hedge funds or something (only once mind you) with a quick poll or survey. A lot of people might probably be willing to help you out so long as it doesn't take up a great deal of their time.

I'm still learning to trade but am finding heat maps useful. I wonder about the scale of default charts on websites like Marketwatch and how they effect peoples trading decisions. Like for example PGH this morning the chart had lower numbers that the stock never touched today but maybe there were a few people that it made percieve that the stock would wind up lowering in price. Or, if like red and green for up and down possibly impact peoples trading emotions more than say something like yellow and purple. Or, if turning a chart upside down and making up a down trend and down an up trend, how something like that might influence perception, emotion, and thus profitability.

BTPK
09-08-2015,
HungryWallet said: ↑