PDA

View Full Version : Beating the spreads

alutixusini
09-16-2015,
Hi guys, I'm new to trading and I can't seem to find anyone discussing this topic in detail, so please help me understand this:

The bid/ask spreads for most major stocks (eg. Apple) are about 0.08%. So, if I were to buy Apple stocks, my position would be -0.08% right from the start. Let's say I were to close my position a day later, I would essentially have to pay another "fee" of 0.08%.

Basically, for each trade I execute, I'd have lost 0.16%. Is this right? Does this mean that if I were to execute 100 trades a year, that would amount to a whopping 16% and I'd have to beat that in order to even see any profits at all?

Do institutional investors, unlike retail investors, have any advantage in terms of the bid/ask spread that they'd have to pay?

AndrewGek
09-19-2015,
What your referring to is called "slippage". As soon as the markets open, the bid and ask on high volume stocks like Apple will tighten up. That, and you've overestimated with your numbers, but basically if you don't expect the stock to move enough to cover the spread, or the spread is so big that its almost impossible to cover, then the trade, and not the spread, is the problem.

aojlhjpo09
09-19-2015,
Ummmm I think your math is off.....each penny you give up on a 100$ equity is only 1$ per 100 shares....or .01% per share and there is no reason you should be giving up 8 cents to get a fill in APPL.