PDA

View Full Version : New Traders Post Your Questions Here

bygjreib80
08-01-2015,
Hi im relatively new to the stock market. Im not investing a whole lot of money, just trying to build it up over the long run. But anyways, ill get to the point. I just deposited $300 into my scottrade account and trying to figure out where abouts to go with it. Im reading on "tdcp" and all the potential there, or should i go for a more stable higher priced stock? I took advice ive seen off message boards the last time i tried to invest... let me just say QBID & GZFX didnt quite work out for me. I know i need to start reading up on everything also, i just dont know where to begin... its pretty overwhelming. Any advice on which direction to go on beginning a portfolio would be great. Thanks in advance.
Brian

Calvinpync
08-01-2015,
glad to have you with us brian. we all been thier my friend. i am big on tdcp but you have to decide what you want to invest in. do the research and make your decision

Carloseguan
08-02-2015,
Hello Brian. The best way to minimize risk is to diversify your portfolio. Now, with only $300 that can be tricky as dividing that up into let's say three stocks would only leave you with $100 or so per stock. In which case, if you do happen to pick a winner you'll be kicking yourself for not investing more. Commissions are what will kill you if you try to diversify too much with too little money.

I was in the same boat as you just a little over a year ago. I started with an initial $500 deposit. The best thing to remember is that in the beginning your goal should be to learn as much as possible, not to make the big bucks. Because more than likely, as you already found out, you will lose some money. And that's okay, as long as you come away knowing what you did wrong and what you could do different next time.