PDA

View Full Version : Options strategies w selling: what are the risks of assignment?

DaveLandry
06-13-2014,
Noob here. I'm well aware of the simplest option purchases such as long calls and puts. However, as I look beyond that into strategies like Spreads, Butterflies, Condors,, etc, etc I see that it requires SELLING (shorting) puts and calls in combination with buying them. . (Straddles and Strangles seem to be the only other strategies that involve only buying/long put and call combos)

If I sign up with a ThinkorSwim account and eventually do some of these strategies which involve selling/shorting, what risks am I realistically facing regarding getting assigned the call/put if the other side chooses to exercise early?

SwingKong01
06-13-2014,
The odds are slim that it will happen but occasionally it does...however assignment does not change your risk....it only changes your buying power.

Example....if you are short a 10$ call and long the 11$ call (vertical credit spread) and you get assigned on the 10$ you are then short that stock at 10$ but are long with the 11$ calls....your directional risk has not changed. If it doesn't throw your buying power out of whack you can chose to keep it that way or simply put an exercise order on your long 11$ strike and that will put it all flat....and wherever you were with profit and loss will not have changed.

If it does throw your buying power below your available funds then you don't have a choice...just exercise the 11$ call and all will snap back into place. You will be flat on the position and your P/L will not have changed.

Strangles are only different in that to flatten the position you buy back or sell the shares you are assigned....doing so leaves you short on the other side so you would have to buy those back also to be completely flat.